Robin rolls back the years as he makes a marathon effort

PUBLISHED: 17:31 24 April 2013 | UPDATED: 17:33 24 April 2013

Robin McNelis led home the 10-strong Ilford AC marathon contingent

Robin McNelis led home the 10-strong Ilford AC marathon contingent

copyright Danny Fitzpatrick / contact +44 (0) 7779 606901 Picture is licenced to t

Ilford AC’s Robin McNelis led home the 10-strong Ilford AC contingent that participated in glorious sunshine at Sunday’s London Marathon.

McNelis completed the 26.2mile course in a time of two hours, 52 minutes and 53 seconds – his fastest since 2009 – for 692nd place in the field of over 35,000 entrants.

Steve Philcox was the next to cross the finishing line and set a new personal best, as well as the three hour barrier with a 2:59.00 clocking, while Paul Holloway also ran a best time of 3:13.46.

Sam Rahman set off at a good pace in the first half of the race but found the going tough in the closing stages as he crossed the line in 3:16.31 and Nicola Hopkinson ran her best for seven years with 3:45.35.

There was a debut for Rachel Allen and she completed the course in 4:29.41 and despite suffering late injuries, Billy Green and Nicola Chester finished in 5:09.20 and 5:17.12 respectively.

Two race walkers from the club also took part in the event with Steve Allen clocking 5:13.15 and Alan O’Rawe 5:45.51.

Woodford Green

■ Meanwhile, a 12-strong contingent took part in the Marathon from Woodford Green, with the best result seeing Sara Bird cross the line in ninth spot in the club runners category.

She crossed the line in a time of 2:46.42 to finish in the top-10, but was the club’s sole female runner. For the men, Harold Wyber was first past the post in 79th overall in 2:35.36, before Simon James stopped the clock on 2:37.20 for 110th.

In the Paralympic World Cup event, which was incorporated into the marathon, Tim Prendergast came home in 2:48.34, while Matt Molloy beat the three-hour barrier in 2:55.16.

George Lloyd completed the cruelling 26.2mile course with a time of 3:10.29 and was followed by Jon Long who registered 3:17.31 before Martin Mack (3:40.46), Grant Corton (3:44.42) and Stuart Phillips (4:38.27) rounded off the club’s runners.

■ Thomas Grimes topped the East London Runners’ contingent, with a timing of 2:40.57 for 204th overall, with Ciaran Canavan next across the line in 2:43.20 for 269th.

Manjit Bedi, Patrick Brown and Daniel Lee all beat the three-hour mark with times of 2:48.20, 2:48.59 and 2:53.14 respectively.

James Wilson clocked 3:08.37 and was followed by Andrew Baxter in 3:10.03 and Mark Boulton in 3:19.05.

Richard Guest crossed the line in 3:37.07 before Michael Wilson (3:42.11) and Robert Heppell (3:46.07).

Six other runners also completed the course and included Richard Potter (3:56.33), Geoff Bench (4:04.57), Tom Woods (4:10.03), Dave Knight (4:12.23), Thomas Whitney (4:15.40) and Tom Edworthy (4:49.41).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Ilford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Ilford Recorder