Gardner triumphs for Ilford in latest ELVIS race

PUBLISHED: 15:00 25 July 2018

The Ilford AC team face the camera at the latest ELVIS race (pic: Ilford AC)

The Ilford AC team face the camera at the latest ELVIS race (pic: Ilford AC)


The latest news from the Ilford Athletics Club

Ilford AC’s Tom Gardner produced a storming performance to win the latest race in this year’s ELVIS competition.

The race, known as the Newman Hilly 5k in honour of former member Newman Sargent who lost his battle with cancer in 2002, involved two laps of an off-road course through Hainault Forest.

Gardner led from the off and came home in a time of 27 minutes and 40 seconds – 90 seconds clear of second place.

Gary Coombes was fourth overall in 29.46 to win the M40 category, while Steve Philcox placed sixth overall in 30.25 to win the M50 category.

Seb Parris was 12th in 31.00, John Crawley came 16th in 32.08 and the scoring six was completed by Dan Holeyman coming 22nd in 32.31.

The scoring six combined to win the men’s match for Ilford, though the club remain second in the table behind East London Runners.

The women were led by the Bree Nordin who was ninth overall in 38.21 and once again took the F55 category trophy.

Gaye Young was 12th in 39.38, while Nicola Hopkinson was 16th in a time of 39.50 and Jenni Sheehan was 20th in 41.38 to complete the scoring four.

Ilford placed third in the match and remain in the same position in the league table.

Also in action were Will Crossley (33.27), Rohan Alexander (33.54), Dennis Briggs (35.48), Wayne Hick (36.12), Addy Patil (39.04), Steve Parker (39.09), Tony Young (39.55), Adnan Karim (41.29), Steve Cheal (41.31), Ernie Forsyth (42.27), Alison Sale (45.28), Anna Crawley (45.51), Rachel Halpin (46.47), Frieda Keane (49.43), Ray Everingham (50.54), Doris Gaga (51.47), Launa Broadley (52.39) and Natasha Mansouri (57.50).

Elsewhere, Sam Rahman collected a British Masters Championship half marathon silver medal in the M35 category at the Caterham half marathon after clocking one hour, 23 minutes and 48 seconds.

Rahman combined with Briggs (1:38.51) and Rob Sargent (1:59.57) to take bronze in the team event.

Julia Galea (2:18.24) took bronze in the F60 age group and teamed up with Young (1:47.18) and Keane (2:19.39) to take team bronze.

Alan Pearl (1:46.52), Tony Young (1:53.37), Adnan Karim (1:56.38), Broadley (2:22.55) and Mansouri (2:29.00) were also in action in Caterham.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Ilford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Ilford Recorder