Essex League: Woodford Wells deny Billericay

PUBLISHED: 10:00 04 September 2017

The cricket season is coming to an end

The cricket season is coming to an end


Billericay dropped out of the Division One promotion places after being held to a draw by Woodford Wells.

Lee Knight chose to bat first after winning the toss and saw David Hinnigan (29) and Aaron Curtis (34) put on 48 for the first wicket.

Wells hit back to reduce the visitors to 90-4, before Ross Poulton hit two sixes and eight fours in his 76 off 77 balls and shared 69 with Knight, who was unbeaten on 30 as Billericay closed on 229-7.

Wells skipper Jonathan Gaffney (4-57) took the bowling honours for his side, with Essex all-rounder Paul Walter among his victims, before Ed Buxton and Joe Johnson (38) put on 69 for the first wicket in reply.

Buxton fell four runs short of a half-century, but Australian Mitch McGee held firm to his an unbeaten 56 from 85 balls, including a six and four fours.

Christopher Hall (26) was the only other Wells batsman in double figures, though, as Poulton (3-79) and David Houghton (4-27) had success with the ball to hold them to 205-8.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Ilford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Ilford Recorder