Redbridge Mayor’s Community Awards celebrate borough’s best and brightest

Mayor's Community Awards

Mayor's Community Awards - Credit: Redbridge Council

Dedicated volunteers, hard-working fundraisers and high-achieving youngsters were celebrated at the Mayor’s Community Awards last night.

Park Neighbourhood Watch with Cllr Barbara White and Sue Williams

Park Neighbourhood Watch with Cllr Barbara White and Sue Williams - Credit: Redbridge Council

Redbridge Town Hall, High Road, Ilford, was packed out for the ceremony, hosted by Mayor of Redbridge Cllr Barbara White.

She said: “Tonight is the night when we honour citizens of Redbridge. There are some wonderful people here but there are also a lot of wonderful people who are not here.

“They are the ones who do so much work and keep the borough alive by all the work they do.

“They care for the elderly, they care for the young and they do it all with a smile on their faces and not a thought for finances.”

You may also want to watch:

The Mayor also presented a special award to her appeal committee.

She said: “It’s just a little token of my respect, admiration and thanks for all that they do.”

Most Read

The full results were:

Best business contribution to the community

Winner: Ask Care Ltd

Runner-up: Nando’s Ilford

Caring for others in Redbridge

Individual award

Winner: Rasik Shah

Runner-up: Brian Mitchell

Organisation award

Winner: RDWWA

Runner-up: Ask Care Ltd

Contribution in support of young people

Individual winner: Brian and Helen Gilman, 18th Epping Forest South Scout Group - Beavers

Organisation winner: Julie Austin and Jenny Colclough, SRS Barnehurst Sea Rangers

Making a greener Redbridge

Individual winner: Muhammad Gangat

Organsation winner: Redbridge Conservation Volunteers

Neighbourhood/community champion

Individual award

Winner: Helen Phillips

Runners-up: Brian Mazdon and Frank Collins of Maybank Community Association, and Neeta Kanagaratnam

Organisation award

Winners: Wanstead Playground Association

Runners-up: Glencoe Avenue Residents’ Group and Social Indian Traditional Association (SITA)

Creating a safer Redbridge

Individual award

Winner: Geraldine Maclaine

Runner-up: Danny O’Brien

Organisation award

Winner: Park Neighbourhood Watch

Runner-up: Awaaz

Young Citizen Award

Winner: Jameel Campbell

Runner-up: Jack Palmer

See next Thursday’s Recorder for full coverage and pictures from the night.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus