Great Scott wins it again

Ilford AC’S Scott Davis came away victorious from the annual National 50 kilometres Championship at Northampton Racecourse on Sunday.

Injury forced Olly Browne and former international Francisco Reis out, but Davis (pictured right) successfully defended his title for the sixth consecutive year.

The Cricklefield-based runner achieved the rare feat in the closing stages of lapping the entire field, finishing in four hours, 28 minutes and 29 seconds.

Behind him, a close battle ensued for the team trophy with Ed Shillabeer claiming fifth spot in 5:34.10 and Bob Dobson seventh in 5:46.07. This enabled Ilford to win the National 50km team title for the first time in their history, by a mere eight points from Redcar.

There were more medals to be awarded with the Essex County Championship in conjunction, which saw Davis win gold and Ilford the team honours.

On the undercard, there was an open 10km race which saw Reis appear, having decided on returning at a lesser distance. From the start the Ilford man powered ahead to win by five minutes, clocking 49.52.

Saturday saw the first of this season’s Winter League 5km races staged at Bexley. Steve Uttley finished behind Medway youth Jonathan Hobbs in a time of 25.51.

Most Read

Walking section captain Dave Sharpe filled seventh spot in 29.55, while Alan O’Rawe finished 10th in 32.17. Mick Barnbrook came 12th in 35.37 to ensure Ilford won the team honours.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter